david’s tea: creme caramel rooibos- a review

thc-davidstea-cremecaramelrooibos3

Since my last review, I haven’t been able to resist having more of my DavidsTea.  This tea is so captivating and irresistible that I’ve had to sneak a few cups, without totally disrupting the canister’s contents (so that I can photograph for future reviews)! I call it ‘work’ since I need to really taste the tea before I review it.  Ok, ok, I give up.  I cheated. Wouldn’t you cheat as well if you had 24 enticing teas, each fragrant and unique, to try?

I ‘tested’ forever nuts sometime last week and have to say I was impressed. The beautiful, yet surprising pink colour of this tea-from the unusual addition of beets- really balances out the nutty aroma of this soothing tea.  I wasn’t able to photograph it, but look out for photos from that ‘testing’ in the near future.

thcdavidsteacollage2

Today I am talking about another blend- the creme caramel rooibos.  I chose this tea from my caffeine free selection and decided to shine a spotlight on it for its dessert-like quality (and come on, creme caramel? Who wouldn’t want to sample this flavor profile in a tea?).  I wanted to assess whether the makers of DavidsTea were successful at translating the warmth and smoothness of creme caramel, into a tea.

thc-davidstea-cremecaramelrooibosbox2

I was skeptical at first, but from the moment this warm, lush rooibos tea touched my lips, I was converted.  Admittedly, I didn’t know much about rooibos(pr. roy-boss) before this first cup;  apparently it’s all that tea drinkers around the globe are talking about now- the latest ‘best thing’ for tea drinking connoisseurs. This legume family member is grown exclusively in South Africa and is also called ‘red bush’ and touted to ease digestive woes, nervous tensions and allergies with its high antioxidant powers.  It’s also caffeine free!

The scent of rooibos is quite distinct- strangely reminiscent to the pipe tobacco that my father uses- its crisp and fresh, almost citrus bouquet bares a peculiar resemblance to mint. The earthy aroma is deceptively simplistic. The complex melange of  undertones and highlights make this tea very difficult to describe.  Additionally, the tea is a blend- rooibos at its core, caramel chunks and other flavorings rounding out its periphery.

thc-davidsteacreamcaramelpot

I made my cup with milk and sugar- a truly decadent nectar to complement my subtly sweet, buttery French sables cookies, (courtesy my generous sibling), fresh strawberries and a tuna salad(courtesy my kind husband) sandwich made with a mini, individually-sized coconut bake(courtesy ‘the indroid’ and artisan lettuces- a bonafide fusion of global sampling!

thc-davidsteacreamcaramelcupI savored the sweet, silkiness of the melted caramel chunks counterbalanced against the sublime, earthy, almost minty perfumes of the rooibos, made ever more velvety by the addition of cream.  The warmth of this dessert tea is best captured when brewed for 8-10 minutes and is only enhanced further by the addition of cream and sugar. Its cozy, clean taste was surprising and refreshing all at the same time. I thoroughly enjoyed its flavor as the scent wafted through our house seemingly attracting the neighbors.

thc-davidstea-cremecaramelrooibossables thc-davidstea-cremecaramelrooibostea_1

I would definitely recommend DavidsTea-creme caramel rooibos tea!

Leave a Reply

